The annual meeting of the World Energy Cities Partnership (WECP) was recently taking place in Perth, Australia. It was decided that next year’s gathering will be held in Stavanger.

The World Energy Cities Partnership is a global association of energy capitals. The organization connects recognized energy capitals from all continents to promote sustainable energy production.

Stavanger was one of the founders in 1995. In 1995, Aberdeen, Houston, Perth, Stavanger, and Vung Tau signed the first cooperation agreement, and Leif Johan Sevland became the first president of WECP. Former Stavanger Mayor Christine Sagen Helgø (H) was president in 2013–2015.

Energy transition has never been more important, and I am pleased that Stavanger will welcome the world’s leading energy cities to Norway next year. I look forward to showcasing everything exciting happening in the energy sector in the Stavanger region, says Mayor Sissel Knutsen Hegdal, who has spent the last week at the meeting in Perth.

Esbjerg’s Mayor Jesper Rasmussen is the president of the World Energy Cities (WEPC). Mayor Sissel Knutsen Hegdal will welcome the world’s energy cities next year when Stavanger hosts the organization’s annual meeting.

Host City

Stavanger hosted the annual WECP meeting in 1996, coinciding with ONS. Stavanger also hosted in 2002 and 2014. Now, it is confirmed that Stavanger will be the host in 2024 – in connection with ONS’s 50th anniversary.

Groningen was admitted as a member at this year’s meeting.

– Stavanger has collaborated with Esbjerg and Aberdeen to establish cooperation in terms of competence and education, and we are delighted that Groningen is also becoming part of this,” says Anne Woie, business manager in the Stavanger municipality.

Member Cities:

Aberdeen, UK Atyrau, Kazakhstan Barranquilla, Colombia Calgary, Canada Cape Town, South Africa Dammam, Saudi Arabia Daqing, China Dongying, China Esbjerg, Denmark Halifax, Canada Houston, USA Karamay, China Kobe, Japan Luanda, Angola Perth, Australia Stavanger, Norway St. John’s, Canada Ulsan, Korea Villahermosa, Mexico

Published: 02.11.2023 by: Øyvind Berekvam, Communication Department
Visit for the latest news.